top of page

Learning how to put myself out there....

Ok... so after having spent my entire career teaching others how to be creative and make art that matters, I am finally retired from teaching Art in the public school setting, and beginning my life as an artist. It was easy to promote my student's work, but when it comes to "tooting my own horn", well, that's much tougher! I took the leap and created a website with some of my paintings and classes that I would love to teach adults!

I create because I have to. I make art because I have to. It's in my blood, It makes me FEEL! It's also healing! I am a two-time breast cancer survivor and it is the ONLY thing that got me through dealing with cancer twice! Having been an art teacher, I had to be good at doing and teaching everything... and I was! Now I get to share what I make with others. One of the first pieces I did during my semester off during my first round of breast cancer was a mixed media piece which included text. Writing on my artwork helped me get the crud off my chest (no pun intended). This mixed media piece was done after weeks of feeling sorry for myself. Titled: "Some days you just have to get over it!" It really helped me get through my darkest days. So...you see...everyone can and must be creative! Who cares if no one else likes it! It's for you!

So yes, I am trying to get over my fear of putting myself and work out there. Some will like it, some won't. But I create for me!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page